Rank Structure

What Is the Marines Rank Structure?

Marines have three different rank structures: Enlisted, Warrant Officer and Officer ranks. Officers have the highest ranks, followed by the Warrant Officers and then the Enlisted Marines. The lowest ranked officer outranks the highest ranked Warrant Officer. The same situation applies the lowest ranked WO to the highest rank enlisted.

Enlisted Ranks

E-1 —- Private (Pvt)
E-2 —- Private First Class (PFC)
E-3 —- Lance Corporal (LCpl)
E-4 —- Corporal (Cpl)
E-5 —- Sergeant (Sgt)
E-6 —- Staff Sergeant (SSgt)
E-7 —- Gunnery Sergeant (GySgt)
E-8 —- Master Sergeant (MSgt)
E-8 —- First Sergeant (1stSgt)
E-9 —- Master Gunnery Sergeant (MGySgt)
E-9 —- Sergeant Major (SgtMaj)
E-9 —- Sergeant Major of the Marine Corps

Warrant Officer Rank Structure

W-1 —- Warrant Officer W-1 (WO-1)
W-2 —- Chief Warrant Officer 2 (CWO-2)
W-3 —- Chief Warrant Officer 3 (CWO-3)
W-4 —- Chief Warrant Officer 4 (CWO-4)
W-5 —- Chief Warrant Officer 5 (CWO-5)

Officer Rank Structure

O-1 —- Second Lieutenant (2ndLt)
O-2 —- First Lieutenant (1stLt)
O-3 —- Captain (Capt)
O-4 —- Major (Maj)
O-5 —- Lieutenant Colonel (LtCol)
O-6 —- Colonel (Col)
O-7 —- Brigadier General (BGen)
O-8 —- Major General (MajGen)
O-9 —- Lieutenant General (LtGen)
O-10 —- General (Gen)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *